Basketball (W)

Mon/Dak Conference Announces All-Conference Teams

Jansone named women's MVP

Mon/Dak Conference Announces All-Conference Teams
Jansone named women’s MVP

(Miles City, MT) – The Mon/Dak Conference has just recently announced the 2010-11 All-Conference teams.  The teams were voted on by the conference coaches. 

Sophomore Ieva Jansone (Riga, Latvia) was named the conference Most Valuable Player on the women’s side as she helped lead the Lady Pioneers to a perfect 14-0 conference mark averaging nearly 18 points, six boards, and over four steals per conference game.  Freshman point guard Christen Lopez (West Jordan, UT) earned second team honors as she finished the conference season leading in assists at 5.6 per game and also added three steals each night.  Sophomore Shaye Murphy (Riverton, UT) earned honorable mention averaging just under 10 points per contest.

On the men’s side, the Pioneers finished the conference 11-3, tied for the top spot.  Freshman Tyree Anderson (Las Vegas) earned first team honors averaging 13.6 points per contest.  Freshman Jeremy Nicolas (Villepinte, France) earned second team honors as the post player averaged 15.5 points on 65 percent shooting from the field.  He also pulled down eight rebounds per contest.  Sophomore James Sparkman (Ypsilanti, MI) was named honorable mention averaging 11 points and 6.5 rebounds per game.  He shot 46 percent from the floor and over 81 percent from the free throw line.

This is MCC’s last season in the Mon/Dak Conference for basketball as Region IX is dropping from four sub regions down to two.  MCC will still continue the relationship with several of the North Dakota schools and schedule them in non-conference contests for years to come.  For the full All-Conference teams, see below.

Ieva Jansone MCC - MVP

First Team
Lacey Petersen‐ BSC
Jenna Gillett‐ LRSC
Karris Philips‐ NDSCS
Ashley Holmstrom‐ NDSCS
Emily O'Callaghan‐ DCC

Second Team
Allison Scherr‐ DAC‐B
Sam Heier‐ WSC
Christen Lopez  MCC
Casey Grace‐ DCC
Shannon Smith‐ DAC‐B

Honorable Mention
Haley Mindt‐ DAC‐B
Shaye Murphy  MCC
Shanaye Packineau‐ UTTC
Jordan Allard‐ DAC‐B
Alyssa Starr‐ UTTC

Blake Nash‐ WSC MVP

First Team
Hanif Nixon‐Hughes‐ NDSCS
Kyle Weisbeck‐ BSC
Adam Hunt‐ DAC‐B
Tyree Anderson  MCC
Trent Thomas‐ NDSCS

Second Team
Jeremy Nicolas  MCC
Noris Rumph‐ NDSCS
Gus Kueber‐ LRSC
Derik Hawkey‐ WSC
Andy Hopson‐ DCC

Honorable Mention
James Bagwell‐ UTTC
Mario Bury‐ DCC
James Sparkman  MCC
JR Coronado‐ LRSC
Cobretti Parisien‐ DAC‐B

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share
Pioneer Sponsors
Miles Community CollegeMiles Community CollegeNJCAA Region IXNJCAA